Southampton Wins Liverpool And Make Premier League History
Southampton Wins Liverpool And Make Premier League History

Southampton Wins Liverpool And Make Premier League History, On Monday, Southampton made history in the Premier League, as they became the first team to defeat all seven competition winners in the season since they lifted the crown.

Thanks to Danny Ings’ second-minute lob against his former side, Ralph Hasenhuttl’s men beat Liverpool 1-0 at St Mary’s, winning in the fixture for the first time since 2016.

Southampton have now beaten Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City, Chelsea and Arsenal in the campaign following a title triumph.

Here is a look back at the matches that make up that run.

Blackburn Rovers

In 1992, Southampton sold Alan Shearer to Blackburn, and the England striker guided Rovers to their first and only Premier League title three years later. Blackburn finished seventh in the following season, although Southampton avoided relegation on goal difference.

They claimed three crucial points in that survival battle on April 6, 1996, with Matt Le Tissier’s 80th-minute penalty sealing a 1-0 win over Blackburn at The Dell.

Manchester United

Southampton sensationally beat defending champions United 6-3 on October 26, 1996, with Eyal Berkovic and Egil Ostenstad both scoring braces as the mercurial Le Tissier starred once more

They also beat a title-defending United side in 1997-98, 2000-01 and 2003-04.


The Gunners were top dogs in 2001-02, but came unstuck at St Mary’s in November the following season, with James Beattie scoring twice and Kolo Toure’s own goal settling the game 3-2 in Southampton’s favour.

Manchester City

Early in Mauricio Pochettino’s tenure, Southampton defeated defending champions City at St Mary’s 3-1 in February 2013.

READ ALSO  Lionel Messi Ready To Leave Barcelona With Reasons

Gareth Barry, who steered a fine, inadvertent finish into the bottom-right corner of City’s net to top off the victory, had a rather sensational own goal in their win. Last season, they beat City, winning 1-0 in July, although by that point, Liverpool had already deposed Pep Guardiola’s side.


Southampton were relegated to when Chelsea won their first Premier League title under Jose Mourinho, losing both of their games to the Blues on the way down.

However, they beat Chelsea in October 2015, with Steven Davis, Sadio Mane and Graziano Pele doing the damage in a 3-1 win as Mourinho’s second spell in charge at Stamford Bridge hurtled towards a premature conclusion.

Leicester City

The Foxes charged to a remarkable Premier League success in 2015-16, but they were thrashed 3-0 at St Mary’s in January 2017.

In what was Southampton’s biggest home victory in the Premier League since a 4-1 win over Crystal Palace on the final day of the previous season, James Ward-Prowse, Jay Rodriguez and Dusan Tadic were on goal.


History was made as Southampton held on to claim a hard-fought, well-deserved win despite Liverpool making 16 attempts, but with just one on goal.

The result left Hasenhuttl in full-time tears and also lifted Saints from the Premier League leaders within four points.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here